

Mémorandum d'Entente sur le Contrôle des Navires par l'Etat du Port dans la Région de l'Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre

1, Joseph Street, P. D. Box 4574, Marina, Lagos, Nigeria. Tel/Fax: +234-1-7369164 e-mail: secretariat@abujamcu.org website: www.abujamcu.org

# 24th November 2023

## **PRESS RELEASE**

The Secretariat of the Abuja Memorandum of Understanding is delighted to officially welcome the **Republic of Equatorial Guinea** as the **20**<sup>th</sup> **Full Member State** of the Abuja Memorandum of Understanding on Port State Control for the West and Central African Region (Abuja MoU).

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea deposited its Letter of Acceptance of the Memorandum to the Secretariat on the 23<sup>rd</sup> day of November 2023.

On behalf of the Chairman, Hon. Ebrima Sillah, the Honourable Minister of Transport and Infrastructure, The Gambia; the Vice-Chairman, the Hon. Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Mr. Adegboyega Oyetola and the 19 full member States of Abuja MoU comprising Angola, Benin, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, D.R. Congo, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, The Gambia and Togo; the Secretariat once again welcomes the **Republic of Equatorial Guinea to the Abuja MoU.** 

**Capt. Sunday Umoren** 

Secretary-General



### Abuja MoU

#### Capt. Sunday M. Umoren

Secretary-General

Abuja MoU on Port State Control for West and Central African Region

1 Joseph Harden Street, off Marina, Lagos, Nigeria.

Tel: +234 703 417 2913

E-mail: <a href="mailto:sunday.umoren@abujamou.org">sunday.umoren@abujamou.org</a>; <a href="mailto:secretariat@abujamou.org">secretariat@abujamou.org</a>;

Website: www.abujamou.org

#### Notes to Editors:

## Abuja MoU

The Memorandum of Understanding on Port State Control for West and Central African Region (Abuja MoU) was signed by 16 Countries represented by their Maritime Authorities on 22<sup>nd</sup> October 1999 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Currently, the Memorandum has 19 full members, namely, Angola, Benin, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Congo, Cote D'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Nigeria, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, and Togo.

The Secretariat of the MoU is provided by the Nigerian Ministry of Transportation and is located in Lagos, Nigeria. The Abuja MoU Information System (AMIS) is a fully automated database that collects and stores PSC inspection data uploaded by Member States. The database is designed to provide information exchange on PSCI data within the region.

Port State Control is the inspection carried out on visiting foreign ships to verify their compliance with international instruments on safety, pollution prevention and seafarers living and working conditions. It is a means of enforcing compliance in cases where the owner and flag State have failed in their responsibilities to implement or ensure compliance. The port State can require deficiencies to be put right and detain the ship for this purpose if necessary. It is therefore also a Port State's defence against visiting substandard shipping.